Launching a Shopify Store in India: The Build Behind the Rs.1,50,000 Launch Tier, Week by Week (2026)
What the Rs.1,50,000 Shopify Launch fee actually buys, in what order it gets built, what you have to hand over and when, which accounts end up in your name, and the running costs that sit outside the fee from the first order onwards.
Saurabh Nishad
Founder, The Mediaverse and Mediaverse Digital · Mediaverse Digital · prices published, no fluff
Mediaverse Digital's Shopify Launch tier builds a store for Rs.1,50,000, Rs.1,77,000 with GST, live 3 to 4 weeks after product data and brand assets arrive. It covers a customised theme, up to 100 products, Razorpay or Cashfree with COD, Shiprocket or Delhivery, GST invoicing, WhatsApp alerts and two weeks of training. Plan fees, gateway charges and apps sit outside.
Key takeaways
- Rs.1,50,000 one-time, Rs.1,77,000 with 18 percent GST on our arithmetic, buys ten published deliverables: a platform recommendation in writing, a customised premium theme, up to 100 products loaded, Razorpay or Cashfree plus COD, Shiprocket or Delhivery, GST invoicing, WhatsApp and email automations, GA4, Pixel and Merchant Center, SEO basics and two weeks of training.
- The clock starts when product data and brand assets arrive, not at signature: a written scope and fixed quote within 3 working days of a 45-minute call, design in weeks 1 to 2, go-live in 3 to 4 weeks. From a Monday 26 October 2026 kick-off the store is live between 23 November and 1 December, after Diwali on 8 November and ahead of the December gifting weeks, on our arithmetic.
- Four accounts are opened in your name on the page: the Shopify store, the payment gateway, the courier account and the domain. The founder's own launch check is a COD order and a refund placed before go-live.
- Running costs sit outside the fee: the Shopify plan, about 2 percent per transaction to the gateway, courier charges per shipment, Rs.3,000 to Rs.15,000 a month of apps and optional maintenance at Rs.5,000 to Rs.20,000. At Rs.3 lakh of monthly sales the gateway alone is about Rs.6,000 a month, Rs.72,000 a year, on our arithmetic.
- Launch is the wrong tier above 100 products, for subscriptions or bundles, or for ERP, CRM or marketplace sync, which the page prices from Rs.3,00,000 on Shopify Custom; a short catalogue sold over chat may only need the Rs.60,000 Starter Site.
Our ecommerce and Shopify development page prices Shopify Launch at Rs.1,50,000, about $3,000, for a launch-ready store with Razorpay or Cashfree, cash on delivery, Shiprocket, GST invoicing and WhatsApp order alerts already wired in, live in 3 to 4 weeks. Our Shopify cost guide has already set that fee against the Indian market and worked out what it costs per product. This playbook takes the tier apart as a build instead: what gets delivered, in what order, what you have to hand over for the clock to start, which accounts end up in whose name, what to test on launch day, and what the store costs to run once the build fee is paid. Every price, deliverable and duration below is from the ecommerce page, the website design page and the pricing page as read on 24 October 2026. Dates, totals and worked examples are our arithmetic and are marked as ours.
What does the Rs.1,50,000 Shopify Launch build include?
The page lists ten deliverables for the service and three tiers. The table sets each deliverable against what Launch gets and what changes on Shopify Custom, which starts from Rs.3,00,000, because the line between the two tiers is where most scoping arguments happen.
| Deliverable | What Launch, Rs.1,50,000, gets | What changes on Custom, from Rs.3,00,000 |
|---|---|---|
| Platform recommendation in writing | Shopify, WooCommerce, Shopify Plus or headless, chosen from catalogue size, order volume, team skills and integrations; the page says it recommends the cheaper option when it fits | The same document |
| Theme | A premium theme reworked to your typography, colours, product photography and page structure | A Liquid theme designed from wireframes so nothing looks like the demo store |
| Catalogue | Up to 100 products with variants, collections, filters, size charts and metafields | 500 plus products, plus subscriptions or bundles |
| Payments and COD | Razorpay or Cashfree with UPI, cards, net banking and EMI; COD with pin-code checks and a WhatsApp confirmation step | The same |
| Shipping | Shiprocket or Delhivery for rates, labels and tracking pages, with serviceability checks on the product page | The same, with direct courier accounts where volume justifies it |
| GST invoicing | An invoicing app configured for your GSTIN, HSN codes and state-wise tax, sent automatically on confirmation | The same |
| Product and checkout pages | Reviews, delivery estimates, offers, sticky add-to-cart, bundles and cross-sells; checkout trimmed to Indian address fields | CRO-led pages built from wireframes |
| WhatsApp and email automations | Order confirmation, shipping updates, COD confirmation and abandoned-cart recovery on the official WhatsApp API; welcome and post-purchase email flows | The same |
| Tracking, SEO and speed | GA4 with purchase events, Meta Pixel and Conversions API, Merchant Center feed, product schema, collection SEO, image optimisation | Adds performance work and schema at depth, plus ERP, CRM or marketplace sync |
| Training and support | Two weeks of team training with written SOPs for products, discounts and returns | 30 days of post-launch support |
The page is equally specific about what the fee does not cover, and the list is worth reading before the scope call rather than after the invoice: Shopify plan fees and app subscriptions, billed by the vendors to your account; payment gateway and courier charges, which are per transaction and per shipment; product photography, video and copy for individual products beyond the templates; ongoing marketing, each channel scoped as its own service; custom app development beyond the listed integrations; and GST, added to the project price for Indian clients.
What happens in each of the 3 to 4 weeks?
The page publishes five process steps and two durations that matter: the scope and fixed quote arrive within 3 working days of a 45-minute call, and Launch stores go live in 3 to 4 weeks from receiving your product data and brand assets. The table runs those steps from a kick-off call on Monday 26 October 2026, assuming the inputs arrive the following Monday, 2 November. The dates are ours; the durations are the page's.
| Stage | What the page says happens | Published duration | Dates, our arithmetic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Store scoping call | A 45-minute call on catalogue, orders, fulfilment and integrations, then a platform recommendation, written scope and fixed quote | Within 3 working days | Call Monday 26 October; scope and quote by Thursday 29 October |
| Inputs arrive | Not a published stage, but the page says the 3 to 4 weeks run from receiving product data and brand assets | Your side of the clock | Assumed Monday 2 November; every day later moves every row below |
| Design and structure | Collections, navigation, product page and checkout wireframes, then visual design in Figma | Weeks 1 to 2 on Launch | 2 to 13 November |
| Build and integrate | Theme development, payments, COD, shipping, invoicing, WhatsApp and email flows, catalogue import and tracking, tested on real Android and iPhone devices | The page gives no separate figure; it falls inside the 3 to 4 weeks | About 9 to 20 November, overlapping the design tail |
| Launch and train | Go-live with test orders, a redirect map for migrations, the Merchant Center feed and team training | Live in 3 to 4 weeks from inputs | 23 November to 1 December |
| Post-launch support | Fixes, questions and small tweaks, then an optional maintenance plan or a clean handover | Two weeks on Launch | To about 7 to 15 December |
Two readings of that table. A brand scoping its store this week will not be live for Diwali on 8 November 2026; the build is in its first week when the festival falls. What it can catch is the December gifting and wedding stretch, provided the inputs land on time. And the page names the one lever that moves the whole schedule: a clean spreadsheet with images, prices, variants and descriptions saves about two weeks on almost every project. On a 3 to 4 week build that is the difference between a store that opens before December and one that opens inside it. Our ecommerce website cost guide covers the same timelines across the three tiers; here the point is that the inputs row is the only one you control.
What do you have to supply, and when?
The page does not publish a client checklist, so this one is ours, built from what each deliverable needs in order to exist. Everything on it should be ready by the inputs date, because the page starts the 3 to 4 weeks from that day.
- A product spreadsheet for up to 100 products: titles, descriptions, prices, variants, images, HSN codes and weights for shipping rates. The page calls a clean version of this the biggest variable on the project.
- Brand assets: logo files, typography, colours and the product photography you already have. Photography, video and copy for individual products beyond the templates are outside the fee, so shoot before the build, not during it.
- Your GSTIN and state of registration, so the invoicing app can be configured for GSTIN, HSN codes and state-wise tax.
- KYC documents and a current account for Razorpay or Cashfree, because the page opens the gateway in your name and payouts go straight to your bank.
- A Shiprocket or Delhivery account, or the details to open one, plus pickup addresses and return policy, so serviceability checks and labels work from day one.
- A phone number for the official WhatsApp Business API, which carries the order, shipping, COD confirmation and abandoned-cart messages.
- Domain registrar access and whichever Google and Meta accounts you already hold, so GA4, the Pixel, Conversions API and the Merchant Center feed are set up where you can see them.
- Approvals at two points: the wireframes and the visual design. The page puts both inside weeks 1 to 2, so a week of silence costs a week of launch.
Which accounts are opened in whose name?
The page's answer runs through its hero line, its deliverables and the founder's note: the store is registered in your name, and a store you cannot log into is not yours. The table sets out what the page says about each account and what to confirm in the scope document.
| Account | What the page says | What to confirm in writing |
|---|---|---|
| Shopify store | Opened in your name; the page says a store you cannot log into is not yours | That you hold the store owner login, not a staff account |
| Payment gateway | Razorpay or Cashfree opened in your name; payouts go straight to your bank | Settlement account and KYC under your business |
| Courier account | Shiprocket or Delhivery opened in your name | Wallet and pickup addresses under your business |
| Domain | Opened in your name | Registrar login stays with you |
| GA4, Meta Pixel, Conversions API, Merchant Center | Configured as part of tracking, SEO and speed; the page does not state ownership | Ask for them in your own Google and Meta accounts, with the agency added as a user |
| Apps | Subscriptions are billed by the vendors to your account | That app billing runs through your Shopify login, so you can prune them later |
What does the store cost to run in year one, outside the build?
The page lists four running-cost lines and gives bands for three of them: the Shopify plan, from a few thousand rupees a month on standard plans; payment gateway fees of roughly 2 percent per transaction; courier charges per shipment; and apps at Rs.3,000 to Rs.15,000 a month once reviews, WhatsApp, invoicing and bundles are in place. Optional agency maintenance in India runs Rs.5,000 to Rs.20,000 a month. The table turns those into a first year at three monthly sales levels, with the gateway as the only line that moves with sales; the figures are our arithmetic on the page's bands.
| Cost line | Published basis | Rs.1 lakh a month in sales | Rs.3 lakh a month | Rs.6 lakh a month |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Payment gateway | About 2 percent per transaction | Rs.2,000 a month, Rs.24,000 a year | Rs.6,000 a month, Rs.72,000 a year | Rs.12,000 a month, Rs.1,44,000 a year |
| Apps | Rs.3,000 to Rs.15,000 a month | Rs.36,000 to Rs.1,80,000 a year | The same | The same |
| Shopify plan | A few thousand rupees a month on standard plans; the current INR price is on Shopify's pricing page | Billed by Shopify to your account | The same | The same |
| Courier | Per shipment through Shiprocket or Delhivery | Depends on order count and weight; the page gives no band | The same | The same |
| Maintenance, optional | Rs.5,000 to Rs.20,000 a month, quoted after launch, month to month | Rs.60,000 to Rs.2,40,000 a year | The same | The same |
| Gateway plus apps, year one | Our arithmetic on the two published bands | Rs.60,000 to Rs.2,04,000 | Rs.1,08,000 to Rs.2,52,000 | Rs.1,80,000 to Rs.3,24,000 |
At Rs.6 lakh of monthly sales, gateway fees and apps together can pass the build fee inside the first year, which is the point our Shopify cost guide makes from the other direction: the one-time fee is the smaller number over the life of the store. Two of these lines are yours to control after launch. Apps creep, and the page's own warning is that a default theme with 40 apps installed loads slowly; the two weeks of training are the time to agree who is allowed to add one. And the gateway percentage is the gateway's, not the agency's, so read the gateway's published rate card before the scope call rather than after.
Returns are the running cost the page flags hardest
The page says return-to-origin rates on unconfirmed COD orders are typically 20 to 40 percent in India, and that the WhatsApp confirmation before dispatch, a small prepaid incentive and pin-code serviceability checks are part of every Launch build rather than an add-on. Every returned COD parcel is a courier charge paid twice with no sale, so those three flows are the part of the build to test hardest on launch day.
What should the launch-day test list contain?
The page's launch step is go-live with test orders, and the founder's note says he checks the test orders himself before launch, including a COD order and a refund. The list below is ours, built from the deliverables, so that every wired-in integration is seen working before the first real customer finds it.
- A prepaid order through UPI and one through a card, with the GST invoice arriving automatically and showing the right GSTIN, HSN code and state tax.
- A COD order to a serviceable pin code, with the WhatsApp confirmation message arriving before dispatch, and a second attempt to a pin code you do not deliver to, which the product page should refuse before checkout.
- A refund on the prepaid order, so the gateway, the store and the invoice all record it.
- A shipping label and tracking page generated through Shiprocket or Delhivery for the test order.
- An abandoned cart left for the recovery message to fire on WhatsApp and email.
- The GA4 purchase event, the Meta Pixel and Conversions API firing on the test order, checked in your own accounts.
- The Merchant Center feed accepted with the test products, and product schema validating on a product page.
- For a migration, the redirect map spot-checked on old product, collection and blog URLs.
- The whole flow repeated on a mid-range Android phone on mobile data, which the page says is how Indian shoppers buy.
When is Launch the wrong tier?
The page draws the line in its own tiers. More than 100 products, subscriptions or bundles, or ERP, CRM or marketplace sync means Shopify Custom from Rs.3,00,000, with a Liquid theme from wireframes and 30 days of support, on a 6 to 10 week build. Checkout customisation, B2B price lists or multiple stores means Shopify Plus or headless from Rs.8,00,000, and the page's FAQ says Plus starts to make sense around Rs.1.5 to 2 crore in monthly revenue, with headless recommended above roughly Rs.50 lakh a month or for an experience a theme cannot build. In the other direction, a short catalogue sold over chat may not need a cart at all: the website design page prices a Starter Site of up to 8 pages at Rs.60,000, and WhatsApp order capture on it is the route our ecommerce cost guide sets out.
The store is also only half of a launch. The page configures GA4, the Pixel, Conversions API and the Merchant Center feed before the first ad runs, and then stops; running the campaigns is a separate service, from Rs.25,000 a month on the Meta Ads Launch plan and Rs.30,000 a month plus a Rs.75,000 minimum ad budget on marketplace advertising for brands that also sell on Amazon or Flipkart. The WhatsApp flows built into the store cover orders; broadcasts to the customer list are the WhatsApp marketing service from Rs.15,000 a month. The pricing page lists all of them next to the three store tiers, with GST extra for Indian clients.
Frequently asked questions
How long does a Shopify Launch store take to go live?
Three to four weeks from the day the agency receives your product data and brand assets, on the ecommerce page, not from the day the contract is signed. Before that, a 45-minute scoping call produces a platform recommendation, written scope and fixed quote within 3 working days. From a kick-off on Monday 26 October 2026 with inputs on 2 November, go-live falls between 23 November and 1 December, on our arithmetic, followed by two weeks of support and training.
What do I need to give the agency before a Shopify Launch build starts?
The page starts the clock on product data and brand assets, so the essentials are a clean spreadsheet of up to 100 products with images, prices, variants, descriptions and HSN codes, your logo and brand files, your GSTIN, KYC and a bank account for the Razorpay or Cashfree account opened in your name, a Shiprocket or Delhivery account, a number for the WhatsApp Business API and domain access. The page says a clean spreadsheet saves about two weeks.
Which costs does the Rs.1,50,000 Shopify Launch fee not cover?
The page lists six exclusions: Shopify plan fees and app subscriptions, billed by the vendors to your account; payment gateway and courier charges, per transaction and per shipment; product photography, video and copy for individual products beyond the templates; ongoing marketing such as Meta, marketplace ads or SEO; custom app development beyond the listed integrations; and GST, which takes the fee to Rs.1,77,000 for Indian clients on our arithmetic.
Who owns the Shopify store, payment gateway and domain after launch?
You do. The page says the Shopify account, the payment gateway, the courier account and the domain are opened in your name, and its founder's note puts it as a store you cannot log into is not yours. Gateway payouts go straight to your bank. The page does not state ownership of GA4, the Meta Pixel or the Merchant Center feed, so ask for those to be created in your own Google and Meta accounts with the agency added as a user.
Can the Rs.1,50,000 Shopify Launch tier handle more than 100 products?
Not as published. Launch loads up to 100 products with variants, collections, filters, size charts and metafields; the next tier, Shopify Custom from Rs.3,00,000, carries 500 plus products with a custom Liquid theme, subscriptions or bundles and ERP, CRM or marketplace sync on a 6 to 10 week build. A catalogue slightly over 100 is a question for the scoping call, which the page says changes scope in writing rather than quietly.
Sources
- Mediaverse Digital ecommerce and Shopify development page (Shopify Launch Rs.1,50,000, Custom from Rs.3,00,000, Plus or headless from Rs.8,00,000; ten deliverables, five process steps, 3 to 4 week go-live, exclusions, running-cost bands, account ownership, COD return rates)
- Mediaverse Digital website design page (Starter Site Rs.60,000 for up to 8 pages)
- Mediaverse Digital pricing page (all services with published plan prices, GST extra for Indian clients)
- Mediaverse Digital Meta ads page (Launch plan Rs.25,000 a month) and marketplace advertising page (Rs.30,000 a month, Rs.75,000 minimum ad budget)
- Shopify India pricing page (current plan fees, billed by Shopify to the merchant account)
- Razorpay pricing page (published payment gateway rates)
This guide supports our service
Ecommerce & Shopify Development
Keep reading
cost guide
Website Design Cost in India (2026): Real Agency Prices
Freelancer, agency, or DIY builder? Real 2026 price bands for business websites in India, the seven factors that move the quote, and what a fair fixed-scope proposal must include.
comparison
Do I Need a Website If I Have Google Maps? (2026)
A Google Business Profile is rented space that ranks for where you are, not what you sell. A clear comparison of the two, the cases where a listing alone is genuinely enough, and what to fix first.
playbook
How to Get Your Business Cited by ChatGPT and Google AI Overviews in India (2026)
No one can force an AI mention, but the probability can be engineered. The playbook we run on themediaverse.in: answer-first structure, published numbers, schema, consistent entity data, and what it honestly costs.
